JUST IN! South Africa did not Sign the AfCFTA; Wants More Time like Nigeria


IFN TV News Desk

Informing reaching IFN TV from the just concluded Extraordinary Session of the African Union, AU in Kigali (Rwanda) indicates that South Africa did not sign the full African Continental Trade Agreement, AfCFTA document despite being in full attendance led by its president Cyril Ramaphosa.

Our source confirmed that while the country signed the Declaration of the agreement indicating that they are committed to it, they demanded more time for further domestic consultation before signing alongside other countries.

While 43 countries signed the full agreement, six countries including South Africa signed only the declaration committing themselves to the spirit of the treaty until deliberations back home are concluded, while five countries including Nigeria, Sierra-Leone, Guinea-Bissau, Burundi and Eritrea didn’t sign any of the documents.

More details coming…


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here